SSAWW Book Award

The Society for the Study of American Women Writers was founded in 2000 to promote the study of American women writers through research, teaching, and publication. The Book Award, Edition Award, and Karen Dandurand Lifetime Achievement Award were established in 2011 to honor the work and legacies of the Society’s founding members and to further SSAWW’s goal to support and broaden knowledge among academics as well as the general public about American women writers.

Book Award

The SSAWW Book Award is given every three years at the Society for the Study of American Women Writers’ conference to recognize excellence in the field. The award recognizes the monograph’s significant contribution to scholarship related to American women writers published during the preceding three years before the submission deadline.

Book Award 2012

Koritha Mitchell

Living with Lynching: African American Lynching Plays, Performance, and Citizenship, 1890-1930 (University of Illinois Press, 2011)

Macintosh HD:Users:kristinjjacobson:Desktop:crocker_books.jpg

Book Award Honorable Mention


Lori Harrison-Kahan

The White Negress: Literature, Minstrelsy, and the Black-Jewish Imaginary (Rutgers University Press, 2010)


The White Negress

Book Award Honorable Mention

Robin Bernstein

Racial Innocence: Performing American Childhood from Slavery to Civil Rights (NYU Press, 2011)

Racial Innocence